Tuesday, June 27, 2017

2016/17 - That's A Wrap (thanks, renovation news, survey, dates)

Wiley Families - 
Can you believe we've been out of school for over two weeks, already?! As I "officially" wrap up the 2016/17 school year by checking off my final deadlines, I certainly didn't want to miss the opportunity to close out the year with each of you! 
There are a few phrases that I can say in all five of the foreign languages that we offer at Wiley. Fortunately, thanks to the pressures of my informal tutoring by our language teachers, 'thank you' happens to be one of them!  
Xie Xie
Your contributions and support of our Wiley PTA have been felt in so many wonderful ways.  Teacher grants (from local professional conferences to supporting the summer international travel of a teacher team to the Galapagos Islands), Winter Thanks, Early Release Lunches, school-wide events, emergency cafeteria lunch funds, technology support, after-school & before school clubs, Book Fairs, and seriously, the BEST Teacher Appreciation week EVER ... just to name a few. Wow.
Merci
Your support of our classroom efforts, small & large, help enhance the excitement of learning ... the 'wish list' can appear a bit random every now and then, but trust me, those snacks, novels, noodles, and yes, even those boxes of soft tissues really do rock our world!  
Arigatou
Maybe chaperoning the recent field trip wasn't exactly how you envisioned spending a day off work ... but truly, can you imagine our teachers having to do THAT alone? Whether it be sharing your parenting expertise as a Wiley Pal, reading partner, Monday folder filer, class parent, or even sharing a smile as you drive through carpool, we LOVE knowing you're behind the scenes supporting our work.  
Gracias
Most importantly, thank you for sharing your precious children with us. We realize they are your greatest treasures, and we appreciate the trust and confidence you place in us each day to provide a loving, meaningful, fun, and worthwhile educational experience for them.  They bring us so much joy!
Danke
In a few weeks, our precious (former) fifth graders will enter the doors of seventeen different middle schools, and we wish them well on their journeys!  Likewise, we will welcome the high school graduating Class of 2030 to fill their shoes!  We can't wait for the adventures that await in 2017/18!  
"Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much." I can't sum it up any better than Helen Keller. 
With heartfelt gratitude,
Leslie Taylor, Principal

Odd & Ends
Survey:  As we close one chapter and look to begin a new one, we want feedback from you! Please take a few minutes to take this SURVEY. Many questions relate to our magnet theme, but the survey also allows you to give constructive feedback in other ways that will guide our work!  (survey - https://goo.gl/forms/j9iClfzLzKJ4FzyM2)
International Adventure:  Via Twitter, join our Wiley team (Ms. Brandt, Ms. Blum, Ms. Gess, Ms. Murdick, Ms. Womack, and Mr. Perlanski) as they travel to The Galapagos Islands with Teacher2Teacher International. #WileyTravels will allow you to join their adventures in travel and teaching. 
Renovation:  Last week, the second of a series of meetings with various WCPSS entities (child nutrition, security, transportation, HVAC, media & technology, etc.) was held at Wiley to review the most recent design narrative. You will find the full presentation here -> Wiley Design Narrative. This week, I will meet with the design team to begin reviewing transitions necessary for the Garner School Site in anticipation of our temporary move next school year.  And, in July, I will loop back with the WCPSS Transportation team to revisit possible solutions that will hopefully accommodate some of the challenges that you have shared with me; the transportation team has been wonderfully committed to working with us! As more of "the pieces" begin falling into place, we will schedule another parent information session (likely late August) to relay the latest & greatest about this exciting project!  
2017/18 Important Dates
Thursday, August 24:  Meet the Teacher for 1st-5th Graders from 4:00-6:00pm 
Monday, August 28: First Day of School for all 1st-5th Graders
Monday, August 28 - Thursday, August 31: Staggered Entry for K students (come only on assigned day)
Friday, September 1: Kindergarten "Pop In" to 'Meet the Teacher' from 2:00-3:00pm

Monday, May 1, 2017

International Carnival Spirit Week ... May 8-11

WILEY GIVES BACK!

INTERNATIONAL CARNIVAL SPIRIT WEEK

Big image

MONDAY - STOMP OUT HUNGER DAY

GIVE BACK OPPORTUNITY:
Collect canned foods to bring with you to the international carnival for our local food bank.

COMMUNITY PARTNER:
Local Food Bank

UNITED NATIONS SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOAL:
Zero Hunger

SHOW YOUR SPIRIT!
  • Wear boots to promote this drive and STOMP out hunger.

TUESDAY - BOOK CHARACTER DAY

GIVE BACK OPPORTUNITY:
Collect books for students to read over the summer. Whole School - Take some time to enjoy some reading in your classroom.

COMMUNITY PARTNER:
Wiley International Studies Families

UNITED NATIONS SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOAL:
Quality Education

SHOW YOUR SPIRIT!
  • Dress as your favorite book character.

WEDNESDAY - ENVIRONMENTAL DAY

GIVE BACK OPPORTUNITY:
Pollution is a worldwide issue. In order to help conserve energy, pick up trash today, keep the lights off, use less water, compost trash, etc.

COMMUNITY PARTNER:
Our School and Community

UNITED NATIONS SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT GOAL:
Climate Action

SHOW YOUR SPIRIT!
  • Wear an Earth-loving outfit wear blue, green, tie die or dress "60's & 70's" style.

THURSDAY - WILEY DAY!

REMEMBER TO BRING YOUR FOOD and BOOK DONATIONS ALL WEEK! 


SHOW YOUR SPIRIT!
  • WE LOVE WILEY!
  • Wear your Wiley or your Fun Run T-shirt and show your school pride!
  • See you at the INTERNATIONAL CARNIVAL TONIGHT!

INTERNATIONAL CARNIVAL

THURSDAY, MAY 11TH, 5:15-7:30PM

301 SAINT MARYS STREET

RALEIGH, NC

Come enjoy the fun!
5:30 - 7:30 -Food Trucks ($), Pizza (Donations Accepted) and Entertainment Booths (free)
5:15 - 5:45 - Community Performers
5:50 - PTA Announcement
6:00 - 7:20 -Wiley Student Parade & Entertainment (4th & 5th graders)
7:25 - Wiley's United Nations Council Group performance (all students & staff)


THINGS TO REMEMBER:

  • Bring chairs, blankets, and wear sunblock for the picnic.
  • There will be food trucks available for purchase (opening at 5ish) and PTA-sponsored pizza dinner (donations accepted).
  • All events will take place on or near the 3-5 Playground.
  • Parking will not be available in the Wiley parking lot. Parking is available at St. Mary's School (Gate 4) and on the street. 
  • Main stage performances will be presented by 4th and 5th graders, and ALL students & staff will perform the show's conclusion. Be sure to stick around for the grand finale. 
  • Adults must supervise children at all times.
  • Bring your Wiley Spirit

Monday, April 17, 2017

Renovation & Celebration!

Renovation Update!
Last week was a big week for the Wiley renovation project!  As promised, you will find the latest information regarding our upcoming renovation project below. 
  • Approval of Design Narrative - Last week, I attended the WCPSS Board of Education’s Facilities Committee work session where the design narrative for Wiley’s renovation was presented by the WCPSS design team. The committee heard preliminary plans for new construction (that will replace the current cafeteria building) and necessary upgrades for the 1923 building. The design narrative addresses several challenges presented by the location of the entrance/exit of the parking lot (with respect to carpool stacking), limited parking spaces, desire to preserve historical elements of the 1923 building, limited classroom space, need for updated media center, and physical location of administrative offices (closer to main entry access point).  The board committee received the plans favorably, and the design team was given permission to move forward with the next stages of design.  Hooray!!!
  • Transportation - I continue to receive inquiries about the district’s plans regarding bus transportation during the construction project as we relocate to our appointed swing space location in Garner. The design team and I are working to set up a meeting with the transportation department to discuss these logistics, and I will pass along the information that we receive.
  • Wiley Commitment – Just before Spring Break, the PTA hosted a general meeting where comments were shared about the desire to maintain family commitment to Wiley during the construction phase. Overall, the group in attendance was enthusiastic about sharing ideas and “themes” that will continue to rally the Wiley community’s support of this exciting project, and likewise, ideas that will maintain the commitment and vitality of current Wiley families.
  • Wiley Commitment - New Families - On a related note, when considering the “health” of Wiley, our magnet application numbers from the recent magnet application period remain strong, and discussion of the renovation project at our recent ‘welcome event’ for new magnet families was well-received.
Keep your questions and insight coming – we’re in this together! I look forward to the day that we ‘cut the ribbon’ that will welcome the Wiley family back to our newly (awesome!) renovated Wiley School! 
CELEBRATION!!
  • Next week, I have the distinct privilege of representing Wiley as we officially receive our 'School of Excellence' designation at the National Magnet Schools of America Conference! I am thrilled to accept this honor on behalf of our amazing school community! Congratulations Wiley family!
Enjoy your week!
Leslie Taylor, Principal

Monday, February 27, 2017

Did you hear?

Wiley was recently awarded a Teacher Innovation Grant to support our plans to create a Global Learning Lab!  Big thanks to Wake Education Partnership for recognizing and funding this exciting initiative. Find out more here!

PTA News & Updates!

FUN RUN
Mark your calendar, the Fun Run will be held on Friday, April 7.  Please note this is the last day before Spring Break. 
We are looking for businesses that are interested in sponsoring our Fun Run t-shirts.  Sponsorship includes logo placement on t-shirts given to all Wiley students.  There are 2 levels of sponsorship -- Green ($500) and Blue ($250). Please contact Hillary Parrott at hillaryparrott@gmail.com if interested in becoming a sponsor.
Look for more Fun Run information coming soon!

WILEY PTA GRANTS AWARDED
The Wiley PTA Grants Committee has awarded several grants this February from round one of our grants application process.  These grants support faculty and staff requests that relate to the Wiley magnet theme and enhance the educational experience of Wiley students.  Some of the approved grants were:
  • Purchase of literacy materials for second grade literacy instruction
  • Attendance at a  technology conference that focuses on helping teachers bring technology into the classroom
  • Creation of an art  mural to be displayed in the main entry hall
  • Attendance at a workshop on anxiety disorders to support strategies for students, educators and parents
  • Attendance at a seminar on Latin America
The Committee is also working to support a cultural exchange between teachers in Ecuador and several of our Wiley teachers.  This experience will allow our teachers to travel to Ecuador this summer and participate in a co-teaching opportunity. The exchange would continue as a virtual relationship and support the cultural diversity being built into our Wiley classrooms.  
 
SUPPLEMENTAL FUNDING FOR THE WILEY ARTS PROGRAM
The arts have tremendous power to inspire, energize and empower our students and deepen their connection to new information. Thanks to an annual partnership between the Wiley PTA and the United Arts Council of Raleigh and Wake County, Wiley students have access to artistic performances and workshops designed to enhance the Wiley curriculum. Grant funding provided by the PTA and United Arts will have supported visits from four professional artists, writers and performers by the end of the school year.
Just this week, professional storyteller and author, Donna Washington, captivated Kindergarten through 5th grade students with a series of multicultural folk tales. Earlier this year, all students also enjoyed a high-energy, musical performance by the Beast that covered the history of African-American music, everything from Spirituals and Jazz to Reggae and Hip Hop.
In addition, to one-day performances, this year’s grant funds two, week-long workshops with more intensive learning opportunities. In February, Kim Silbaugh led a project where student’s designed their own animated video, using a back drop and clay figurines they created and a stop motion mobile app.
Fourth and fifth grade art students researched and wrote a script for a fairytale from a different continent and the second and third grade videos featured a tropical rainforest ecosystem. Take a look at the impressive student videos. In March, local writer, Michael Beadle, will lead the 5th grade students in a writing workshop.
Thank you PTA donors for making these opportunities available!

BELLEDIN REPRESENTS WILEY AT PIECES OF GOLD
Emma Belledin is representing Wiley this year with her Teotihuacan watercolor. The celebration is March 7th from 4:30-5:30 in the lobby of the Progress Energy Center. If you are attending Pieces of Gold on March 8th, be sure to look for Emma's work. 

WILEY STUDENTS IN SOUND OF MUSIC
We have 3 Wiley 5th graders who will be performing in Broughton's The Sound of Music on March 2nd, 3rd and 4th at 7:00 pm.

WILEY TEACHER’S ART EXHIBITION
Wiley's art teacher Karen Rose will be showing over 30 of her paintings and works on paper at the NC Botanical Gardens in Chapel Hill from March 4-April 29 with an opening on Sunday, March 19, from 2:30-4:30pm.


WILEY’S SPRING BOOK FAIR – 
Next Week
The Spring Book Fair starts next week – Tues., March 7! 
It’s not too late to volunteer!  We need your help for it to be successful.  Sign up for a time that works for you: http://www.signupgenius.com/go/10c0f4bafae2ba64-2017 
We especially need help during preview day (Tues., 10:30 AM – 3:00 PM), before school sales (8:45 – 9:30 AM), and after school sales (3:30 PM until closing). 
Book Fair Hours
  • Tuesday 8:45 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Wednesday 8:45 AM – 6:30 PM
  • Thursday 8:45 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Friday 8:45 AM – 10:00 AM
Don’t forget the fair is open until 6:30 p.m. on Wed, March 8 and will feature a special performance by the Wiley Jazz Quartet.   The Wiley Jazz Quartet will perform two sets, one at 5:30 PM and one at 6:10 PM.  Enjoy the smooth groove and your new books with a treat from JAM Ice Cream’s food truck on Wed. evening.  JAM will donate a portion of their profits to the Wiley PTA.
Donate to the Book Fairy Fund so every child can have a book.  The Book Fair Fund allows us to give each child who needs one a coupon for the paperback book of their choice at the book fair.  We very much appreciate all of the donations that make this effort possible.

TALENT SHOW APPLICATION NOW AVAILABLE!
To apply for the 2017 Wiley Talent Show, please click on the link below:
If you have any questions, please contact Jenny Kalkbrenner at talent.show@wileypta.org
Wiley's got talent!

QUICK LINKS


UPCOMING EVENTS

  • March 7-10: Wiley Spring Book Fair
  • Thursday, March 23: Wiley Talent Show (6-8 PM)
  • Friday, March 31: Wiley Open (Makeup Day #3)
  • April 10-14: Spring Break

SPANISH TRANSLATION

FUN RUN (EVENTO PARA RECAUDACION DE FONDOS)
Marque sus calendarios! La fecha para el Fun Run es el viernes 7 de abril. Este sera el ultimo dia de clases antes del Spring Break.
Estamos buscando a dueños de negocios que estén dispuestos a patrocinar nuestras camisas para el Fun Run. El patrocinio incluye el logo de su negocio sobre las camisas que serán distribuidas a todos los estudiantes de Wiley. hay dos niveles de patrocinio - Verde ($500) Y Azul ($250). Por favor comuníquese con Hillary Parrot (hillaryparrot@gmail.com) si esta interesado/a en patrocinar.
Les estaremos mandando mas información sobre el Fun Run muy pronto!

EL COMITE DE SUBVENCIONES
El Comité de Subvenciones del Wiley PTA ha otorgado varias subvenciones este febrero de la primera ronda de aplicaciones. Estas subvenciones apoyan las peticiones, de la facultad y el personal de Wiley, que van en conjunto con el tema magnet de Wiley y ayudan a mejorar la experiencia educacional que se les provee a los estudiantes de Wiley. Algunas de la becas aprobadas fueron:
  • Compra de materiales educacionales para asistir con la literatura y comprensión para el segundo grado.
  • Oportunidad de asistir a una conferencia de tecnología con énfasis en ayudar a los maestros a integrar tecnología en los salones.
  • Creación de un mural de arte para exhibir en la entrada principal del colegio.
  • Oportunidad de asistir un taller de discusión sobre trastornos de ansiedad para apoyar a los estudiantes, educadores y padres de Wiley
  • Oportunidad de asistir un seminario sobre Latino America.
El Comité también esta trabajando para apoyar un intercambio cultural entre profesores en Ecuador y Wiley. Esta experiencia permitirá a nuestros maestros viajar a Ecuador este verano para participar en una oportunidad de enseñanza conjunta. El intercambio continuara luego a través de interacciones virtuales y apoyara la diversidad cultural que siempre se fomenta en los salones de Wiley.
 
FONDOS SUPLEMENTARIOS PARA EL PROGRAMA DE ARTE DE WILEY
Las artes tienen tremendo poder para inspirar y vigorizar a nuestros estudiantes y enriquecer sus conexiones con información nueva. Gracias a la colaboración anual entre el PTA de Wiley y United Arts Council de Raleigh y Wake County, los estudiantes de Wiley tendrán acceso a presentaciones artísticas y talleres diseñados para enriquecer el currículo de Wiley. Subvenciones otorgadas por el PTA y United Arts apoyaran visitas de 4 artistas profesionales, escritores y actores este año.
Justo esta semana, cuentista y autora, Donna Washington, cautivo a todos nuestros estudiantes con una serie de cuentos folclóricos multiculturales. A principios de este año, los estudiantes también disfrutaron de una presentación musical de alta energía con el grupo Beast, el cual cubre tópicos sobre la historia de música Afro-Americana, todo desde música espiritual y jazz hasta reggae y hip-hop.
Ademas de estas presentaciones, la subvención de este año financiara 2 talleres (cada uno es una semana de largo), con oportunidades de aprendizaje mas intensos. En febrero, Kim Silbaugh condujo un proyecto donde estudiantes diseñaron sus propios videos animados y un mobile app, usando fondos y figuras de plastilina para crear animaciones en stop motion.
Los estudiantes de arte de 4to y 5to grado investigaron y escribieron un guión para un cuento de hadas de un continente diferente. Los videos de los estudiantes de 2do y 3er grado incluye un ecosistema de la selva tropical. Disfrute estos impresionantes videos de los estudiantes.
En Marzo, autor local, Michael Beadle, guiara a los estudiantes de 5to grado en un taller de escritura.
Gracias a todos los que donaron al PTA para crear estas oportunidades para los estudiantes!

SOUND OF MUSIC
Tenemos 3 estudiantes de Wiley de 5to grado que estaran participando en el show "The Sound of Music" del colegio Broughton desde el 2 al 4 de marzo a las 7pm.

BELLEDIN REPRESENTARA A WILEY CON SU PINTURA
Emma Belledin representara a Wiley este ano con su pintura de acuarela Teotihuacan. La celebración es el 7 de marzo de 4:30 a 5:30 en el lobby del Progress Energy Center. Si usted va a atender Pieces of Gold el 8 de marzo, pase por el lobby a ver el arte de Emma!

ROSE ESTARA MOSTRANDO SUS PROPIAS PINTURAS Y TRABAJOS DE ARTE
La maestra de arte de Wiley, Karen Rose, estará mostrando mas de 30 de sus propias pinturas y trabajos de arte sobre papel en el NC Botanical Gardens en Chapel Hill desde el 4 de marzo hasta el 29 de abril con un evento el domingo 19 de marzo de 2:30 a 4:30

LA FERIA DE LIBROS DE WILEY DE LA PRIMAVERA
Les animamos a los niños a leer con la Feria de Libros de Wiley de la Primavera 2017, abierta el 7 hasta el 10 de marzo.
Durante un horario extendido el día 8 de marzo, estamos orgullosos de presentar un concierto especial del Cuarteto de Jazz de Wiley, ciertos miembros de la Banda Musical de Wiley.  El Cuarteto de Jazz de Wiley presentará dos actuaciones – una a las 5:30 p.m., y la otra a las 6:10 p.m. Disfrute la música suave y sus libros nuevos, también con un helado de JAM’s Ice Cream Truck (Camión de Helados), el día miércoles por la tarde. JAM donará un porcentaje de sus ingresos a la PTA de Wiley.
Para organizar toda esta diversión, la Feria de Libros necesita su ayuda. Por favor regístrete para ayudar durante un tiempo conveniente para ti al:http://www.signupgenius.com/go/10c0f4bafae2ba64-2017
7 – 10 de marzo, 2017
Horario de la Feria de Libros:
  • martes 8:45 AM – 4:30 PM
  • miércoles 8:45 AM – 6:30 PM (Cuarteto de Jazz de Wiley and Camión de Helados JAM)
  • jueves 8:45 AM – 4:30 PM
  • viernes 8:45 AM – 10:00 AM

LA SOLICITUD PARA EL CONCURSO DE TALENTOS DE WILEY 2017 AHORE ESTA DISPONIBLE!
Favor de hacer clic en el enlace abajo:
Si tiene cualquier pregunta, por favor contáctese con Jenny Kalkbrenner al talent.show@wileypta.org
Los estudiantes de Wiley son talentosos!

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Welcome 2017!

Happy New Year!  


Thank You … to our Wiley PTA for coordinating an incredible ‘Winter Thanks’ event for our staff!  The Wiley staff was overwhelmed by the love and generosity of our Wiley families. Thank you!


Wiley Gives Back was a huge success.  Donations poured in each day, and over 600 lbs of canned food were delivered to the Food Bank. Thanks, Wiley families, for opening your hearts to the causes identified by our students.  


Renovation:  In case you haven’t heard, Wiley is scheduled for a major renovation project in 2018/19. We are slated to relocate to the Garner HS Ninth Grade center for the school year and will return to our beloved Wiley campus in 2019/20 … with fabulous updates and new classroom/cafeteria space!  Come hear more about the project and offer your input/suggestions at a Community Event on Wednesday, January 18th at 6:30pm in the Wiley Media Center.  Spread the word to your neighbors and friends!  Members of the Design and Facilities Team will be on-hand.  


Calling All Rising Kindergarten Students:  Kindergarten registration is OPEN!  Families must register at their base, and magnet families need to submit an application for rising K siblings during the Magnet Application Period - January 12 - 31. The sooner you can register for Kindergarten, the more helpful it is for us in terms of planning for our 2017/18 staffing/hiring decisions.  Ms. Ruedy, our data manager, is happy to assist and answer your questions - 919-856-7723.


Student Assignment Strips for all students with 2017/18 school assignments were distributed last Thursday, January 5th. Be sure to double-check your assignment for next school year!


Did you hear?  Ms. Wolfgang’s 4th and 5th grade ‘Singing Stars’ were chosen to participate in the 2017 Pieces of Gold performance. Participation in this event is a grand honor, and we hope that our Wiley families will consider purchasing a ticket to support our talented performers!


Arrival / Dismissal Reminders: Please know that the guidelines we offer for arrival and dismissal are for the safety of our students. Adhering to these guidelines helps us ensure the safe, efficient departure of almost 500 students.
  1. Unless you are dropping off for supervised activities (YMCA care, band, Go Green, etc.), students are not to be dropped off prior to the 8:45am bell.
  2. The 'Carpool' departure point is only for those families taking advantage of the convenience of curbside car pick-up. Students sent to the carpool departure area should not be picked up by individuals arriving ‘by foot’.
  3. PM walkers staying to enjoy campus must be accompanied by a supervising adult at all times and school rules apply. Students must be ‘in sight’ of their supervising adult at all times. Further, access is limited to the playground area, bordered by the main entrance steps. Other areas of the campus are reserved for use by the YMCA afterschool program.  
  4. Calls to make changes in your child’s afternoon transportation should be received before 3:00pm - 919-856-7723, select 0 for receptionist.


Mark your calendars for our make-up days: Friday, January 27th, Monday, February 20th, and Friday, March 31st


Upcoming Dates


Wednesday, January 18 - ‘Open House’ for prospective magnet families - 10:30am and 2:00pm
Wednesday, January 18 - Community Input Session for Renovation @ 6:30pm in Media Center
Monday, January 16 - MLK Holiday - no school
Friday, January 20 - Early Release - dismissal @ 1:15pm
Friday, January 27 - Make-Up Day - school is in session
January 31 - February 3 - Wiley PTA presents Artist In Residence with Ms. Rose’s art students
Friday, February 10 - Early Release - dismissal @ 1:15pm

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

PTA - 11/14 update

Week of November 14, 2016

VOLUNTEER REGISTRATION

Parents: Remember to register as a volunteer using the online process, accessed only through the WCPSS intranet.  Adults must be registered as a volunteer to provide classroom assistance and to chaperone field trips if they wish to do so. The volunteer database will be purged next week of those volunteers that registered prior to July 1, 2016. 

FALL BOOK FAIR REPORT
Wiley community: thanks to you, the 2016 Fall Book Fair was an incredible success!  We earned nearly $2000 for the PTA to support our wonderful teachers, and through your generous contributions to the Book Fairy Fund, made sure we took care of our entire community of readers.  We'd like to give a public shout out to our amazing volunteers, our fantastic and adaptable teachers & staff (who managed a last minute event date change without breaking a sweat and who stayed late to read to our children!), and Trader Joe's (Wake Forest Road location), who donated reusable tote bags to house our teacher book donations!
From the bottom of our hearts, thank you all so much!
-Katie Bridges and Jenn Marks

LOST AND FOUND
We have two tables full of lost and found clothes, mostly jackets, sweaters and lunch boxes, outside the art room. Items will be donated to 'Note in the Pocket' next week.

SKATE NIGHT RESCHEDULED (12/3)
Skate Night has been rescheduled for December 3! Details can be found here:

THE WILEY ANNUAL FUND NEEDS YOU!

Thank you to all of those that have donated to the Annual Fund so far.  We have raised $5,300 toward our goal of $20,000, so we have a long way to go.  Please consider a donation of any amount to help our students enjoy amazing events like last Friday’s visit from the awesome group, The BEAST.  They came to Wiley and every student got to enjoy a musical adventure of creativity, improvisation and the history of African-American music.  It  was an energetic, engaging performance.
and click on the donate now button to make your tax deductible donation.  

WILEY RESTAURANT NIGHT
Reminder that our first restaurant night is next Monday, November 21. On that day, the Village Draft House in Cameron Village will contribute 10% of it’s ALL DAY profits to the Wiley PTA.  Please come out to enjoy some good food and visit with friends.

QUICK LINKS


UPCOMING EVENTS

  • November 21: Restaurant Night at Village Draft House
  • November 23-25: Wiley Closed - Thanksgiving
  • December 2: Early Release
  • December 3Wiley Skate Night

SPANISH TRANSLATION

VOLUNTARIOS
Padres, por favor regístrense como voluntarios utilizando el proceso en línea, accesible solo por el “intranet” de WCPSS (las escuelas del condado de Wake). Los adultos tienen que registrarse como voluntarios si quieren ayudar en las aulas y para acompañar las excursiones afuera de la escuela si así lo desean. En la semana que viene, vamos a borrar de la base de datos todos los voluntarios que se registraron antes del 1 de Julio 2016.

LA FERIA DE LIBROS DEL OTONO
La comunidad de Wiley:  Gracias a todos ustedes, la Feria de Libros del Otoño de 2016 fue un éxito increíble!  Ganamos casi $2000 para la Asociación de Padres y Maestros (PTA) para apoyar nuestros maestros maravillosos, y através de sus donaciones generosas al Fondo “Book Fairy” (Hada de Libros), aseguramos que todos los niños en la escuela podía tener un libro.  Nos gustaría reconocer públicamente nuestros voluntarios maravillosos, nuestros maestros y personal fantásticos y adaptables (quienes manejaron un cambio al último minuto a una nueva fecha sin preocuparse y quienes se quedaron tardes para leer a los niños), y Trader Joe’s (ubicada en Wake Forest Road), los quienes donaron bolsas reutilizables para los libros.
Te agradecemos desde el fondo de nuestros corazones!
-Katie Bridges y Jenn Marks

ROPA PERDIDA
Tenemos dos mesas afuera del aula de arte que están llenas de ropa perdida, principalmente chaquetas, suéteres, y cajas de almuerzo. Hemos tenidos las mesas allí por dos semanas ahora. Probablemente vamos a donar a una caridad cualquier ropa que todavía está allí en la próxima semana. Gracias.

EL FONDO ANUAL DE WILEY NECESITA DE SU AYUDA

Gracias a todos los que han donado al Fondo Anual. Hasta ahora hemos recaudado $5,300 en camino a nuestra meta de $20,000, por lo tanto nos falta mucho todavía. Por favor considere donar, para contribuir a que nuestros estudiantes disfruten de grandes eventos como el del grupo musical The BEAST, que vino el viernes pasado. El grupo vino a Wiley y todos los estudiantes disfrutaron de una aventura musical con mucha creatividad e improvisación. También aprendieron sobre la historia de la música Afro-Americana. Fue un evento energético y muy cautivador.
Por favor visite http://wileypta.org/annual_fund/ y haga clic en el botón que dice "Donate Now" para hacer su donación la cual es deducible de impuestos. 

NOCHE RESTAURANTE

Marque su calendario para nuestra primera noche restaurante. Lunes 21 de Noviembre, The Village Draft House en Cameron Village contribuirá el 10% de su beneficio para ese día a Wiley PTA.

Por favor, venga a disfrutar de una buena comida y visitar con los amigos.